Birthday #54

Published November 13, 2016 by maryleesdream

Today is my birthday.

It’s difficult, to be adopted, on your birthday.

I lost my only home today.  When I was born, my parents had big plans.  The plans included giving me away, ASAP.  They were in a hot rush.  They did not want me to be too old to adopt.  They wanted me to go to a good home..

free-to-good-home

I’m not sure if I was free.  My adoptive mother says I was, the agency says they never give newborns away for free.  I’d love to see some sort of receipt.  My adoptive home was poor.  They did not have money lying around to buy babies.  Who knows what’s true.

Maybe I was some kind of charity case.  I’m not sure why.  I was a healthy white female.  Maybe they knew Mom was really black.  Maybe they knew I had a birth defect.  Anyway, I went to a poor home.

So, my birthday again.  My mother’s gone, my father and his family have shunned me.

I can’t wait for this day to be over.  I’m painting my kitchen.

3 comments on “Birthday #54

  • Ugh i’m with ya, i hate my birthdays. No good comes of them. I’m too old i wish everyone around me would pretend it was just another day. That would be the best birthday present ever. A simple happy birthday honey from my husband in the morning is more than i need. Instead it is a day for everyone else to deal with their feelings about me and try to elicit something (?) from me. Bleh.

    Cheers to other days !

  • Leave a Reply

