My Sister Got Engaged, I Think

Published October 2, 2013 by maryleesdream

ring

I really have to stay off facebook.   I just can’t seem to help myself, I snoop on my families lives.  I want to be included so badly, I look for scraps of their lives, and then I’m in terrible pain when I find things out.

My sister is my father’s kept daughter, the child of his second wife.  Dad met Chita when he tried to open a resort in Puerto Rico.  She was 14 and he was 40.  He got her pregnant, and she aborted their first child, just like my mother did.  She was 15, the same age as my mother when she aborted her baby.  But according to my father his relationship with Chita was true love.  My father told me he married my mother out of obligation, because she was pregnant with me, but his second marriage was the real thing.  The the 26 year age difference meant nothing.  They divorced years ago.

My sister is 25 years younger than me.  She’s younger than two of my children.  Dad kept his last two children, a girl and a boy, because he was finally able to provide them with a good life.  The rest of us were killed or abandoned, but these last kids are the real deal.

So I saw a picture of my sister’s engagement ring on facebook.  I assume she’s engaged.  Maybe my father will live to walk one of his daughters down the aisle.

2 comments on “My Sister Got Engaged, I Think

  • Thanks for sharing. I can relate. It hurts to be unwanted – there’s no way around it. I have gotten better at focusing on the people in my life that are actually happy about my existence, but the pain and self doubt still linger.

  • Leave a Reply

